The interior of St Stephen’s Church, Bournemouth – a card posted in 1920

This card, which was posted to Winnie Barber in February 1920, is one of the “Boots Cash Chemists Pelham Series, No 453a”. The image shows the interior of St Stephen’s Church in Bournemouth.

 

The card was sent from 55 Revelstoke Road, SW, and seems to have been posted in Wandsworth. Revelstoke Road is adjacent to Wimbledon Park.

The message is quite detailed; some of it seems to have been written in pencil and then written over in ink. It reads:

Dear Freddie

Will you please ask Dany(?) if she received my letter safely. If so, will she please answer it as I want to know if she is coming to tea Sat.
Well Freddie how are you getting on? I am coming in next Monday, I hope nobody’s got my job. Please let me know. With love, Mooney (?)

The name of the sender is difficult to decipher – but I assume she was one of Winnie Barber’s work colleagues.   Winnie was now almost 18 ; I wonder what her occupation was, and whether the next batch of cards gives us any clues.

 

Leave a comment